When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Advice

Take Your Time Booking Hotels Online

Worldwide, 25/02/2019

Simple, clear and uncomplicated - in recent years ever more Swiss travellers are booking hotel rooms online using platforms such as booking.com or expedia.com. However, there are risks involved. While a room may look good in the pictures and the (currently) low price my be irresistible, serious deficiencies may surface once you arrive... Beyond cleanliness, service or adequate facilities, the hotel neighbourhood might hold unpleasant surprises: high crime rates, large numbers of homeless people or aggressive drug addicts are hardly the ideal conditions for a relaxing and safe stay abroad.

Learn more

Hotspot report

Nicaragua: A Country Plunged into Chaos

Nicaragua, 25/09/2018

Mass protests, street battles, and human rights violations: what began as a peaceful protest against planned pension reforms by the government of Daniel Ortega was brutally broken up by Nicaraguan security forces, triggering a fatal spiral of violence that has led to the deaths of over 300 people. There is currently no sign of the situation stabilizing.

Learn more

Hotspot report

Soliswiss Annual Analysis – Outlook on Global Developments

Worldwide, 01/03/2018

The annual analysis for 2018 provides an overview of current and emerging points of conflict and offers an assessment of their development. This issue focuses on the Middle East with its rivals Iran and Saudi Arabia, who both seek to control the region. Tensions are expected in Europe as well, however: Poland is rubbing its citizens and the EU up the wrong way with its policies. A look at Latin America shows that the coming months will be decisive for Brazil: elections will take place this year, all while investigations into the Petrobras scandal continue and some regions struggle with growing financial concerns. The annual analysis cannot claim to be comprehensive. Rather, it is intended to provide assistance to Soliswiss members, travelers and Swiss citizens abroad as well as highlight developments.

Learn more

Auf Reisen läuft nicht immer alles nach Plan...Darum haben wir einen Plan b! Als Soliswiss Mitglied bist du im Ausland und in deinem Wohnland automatisch vor politischen Risiken geschützt.Mehr erfahren
Hinweise

Vorsicht bei Online-Hotelbuchungen

Weltweit, 25.02.2019

Einfach, übersichtlich und unkompliziert - in den letzten Jahren haben immer mehr Schweizerinnen und Schweizer ihr Hotelzimmer über Online-Plattformen wie booking.com oder expedia.com gebucht. Doch dies birgt auch Risiken: schnell hat man eine Unterkunft reserviert, die zwar auf den Bildern hübsch aussieht und dazu noch durch einen günstigen Preis besticht, vor Ort jedoch gravierende Mängel aufweist. Nebst Sauberkeit, Service oder Ausstattung kann dabei insbesondere die Umgebung des Hotels böse Überraschungen bereithalten: hohe Kriminalitätsrate, zahlreiche Obdachlose oder aggressive Drogensüchtige bilden kaum ideale Bedingungen für einen entspannten und sicheren Aufenthalt.

Mehr erfahren

Hotspot Bericht

Nicaragua: ein Land versinkt im Chaos

Nicaragua, 25.09.2018

Massenproteste, Strassenschlachten und Menschenrechtsverletzungen: Ein ursprünglich friedlicher Protest gegen eine geplante Rentenreform der Regierung Daniel Ortegas wurde von den nicaraguanischen Sicherheitskräften gewaltsam aufgelöst und trat eine fatale Gewaltspirale los, in dessen Verlauf über 300 Menschen getötet wurden. Eine Stabilisierung der Lage ist zurzeit nicht in Sicht.

Mehr erfahren

Hotspot Bericht

Soliswiss Jahresanalyse 2018 – Ausblick auf die globalen Entwicklungen

Weltweit, 01.03.2018

Die Jahresanalyse 2018 gibt einen Ausblick auf bestehende und aufkommende Konfliktherde und liefert eine Einschätzung zu deren Entwicklung. Im Fokus dieser Ausgabe liegt der Nahe Osten mit den beiden Rivalen Iran und Saudi Arabien, die beide die regionale Vormachtstellung für sich anstreben. Auch in Europa werden Spannungen erwartet: Polen eckt mit seiner Politik bei den Bürgern und der EU an. Mit Blick auf Lateinamerika werden die kommenden Monate für Brasilien entscheidend: Im laufenden Jahr stehen Wahlen an, währenddessen sind die Untersuchungen zum Petrobras-Skandal noch nicht abgeschlossen und einzelne Regionen kämpfen mit immer grösseren Finanzierungsschwierigkeiten. Die Jahresanalyse hat nicht den Anspruch, vollständig zu sein. Viel mehr dient sie als Hilfeleistung für Soliswiss Mitglieder, Reisende und Auslandschweizer und zeigt Entwicklungen auf.

Mehr erfahren