When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Hotspot report

Nicaragua: A Country Plunged into Chaos

Nicaragua, 25/09/2018 bySteven Sohn

Mass protests, street battles, and human rights violations: what began as a peaceful protest against planned pension reforms by the government of Daniel Ortega was brutally broken up by Nicaraguan security forces, triggering a fatal spiral of violence that has led to the deaths of over 300 people. There is currently no sign of the situation stabilizing.

Peace is not returning to Nicaragua. The greatest unrest since the 1979 revolution was unleashed by pension reforms put forward by authoritarian president Daniel Ortega. Originally devised with the intention to improve the state’s ailing public finances, the scheme has pushed the Central American country over the edge. After many years of simmering tensions under the shadow of allegations of electoral fraud, the erosion of democracy, arbitrary expropriation of farmers, as well as mass lay-offs in the public sector, the people reached their boiling point. In April 2018, thousands of Nicaraguans took their protest to the streets of the capital of Managua. The originally peaceful demonstration, however, was violently broken up by security forces, with a number of civilians losing their lives.

This harsh response by the government sparked a chain of protest across the country – this time directed at Ortega himself. In the weeks that followed, mass protests, roadblocks, and strikes broke out in many locations, some of which were dispersed by security forces and paramilitary groups in brutal street battles – often with fatal outcomes for civilians.

In August, the government finally succeeded in clearing the remaining barricades and thereby in pushing back the protest movement. However, the situation has not abated: Ortega is now attempting to stifle any renewed flare-up of the protests with an iron fist. Security forces and paramilitary groups are now reported to be patrolling the streets, forcing their way into homes and arbitrarily arresting people. In its August report, the United Nations Commission on Human Rights accused the Nicaraguan leadership of a “disproportionate use of force” as manifested in serious human rights abuses against critics of the government: extrajudicial killings, “enforced disappearances,” widespread arbitrary detentions, torture, and ill-treatment have all been documented.

Nevertheless, demonstrations are still taking place to this day. However, the protest movement’s strength seems to be gradually fading in the face of this brutal repression. Persecution is already driving thousands of demonstrators and opponents of the government underground or out of the country entirely, forcing them to give up their work or studies and leave their families behind. More and more this is having a demoralizing effect on the movement, as a result of which some analysts expect Ortega will hold on to power for the time being.

However, the consequences of this turmoil are already devastating. With the economy on its knees, poverty continues to spread. The critical security situation combined with an infrastructure paralyzed by protests has led to serious shortages of basic supplies. Along with a lack of food and hygiene products, this means limited access to medication and hospitals. These factors, in conjunction with the bitter disillusionment that many Nicaraguans feel after having believed the country past such civil-war-like conditions, lay the groundwork for a continuingly tense situation. Thus, in the long run, the population’s frustration might increase again to the point that renewed protests with violent clashes might result, dragging the country further down a dark path of violence and unrest.

In view of the situation described above, into which even uninvolved parties can easily be drawn, as well as the generally high level of criminal activity, the security risk in Nicaragua is currently very high.

Did you find this entry helpful?

Auf Reisen läuft nicht immer alles nach Plan...Darum haben wir einen Plan b! Als Soliswiss Mitglied bist du im Ausland und in deinem Wohnland automatisch vor politischen Risiken geschützt.Mehr erfahren
Hotspot Bericht

Nicaragua: ein Land versinkt im Chaos

Nicaragua, 25.09.2018 vonSteven Sohn

Massenproteste, Strassenschlachten und Menschenrechtsverletzungen: Ein ursprünglich friedlicher Protest gegen eine geplante Rentenreform der Regierung Daniel Ortegas wurde von den nicaraguanischen Sicherheitskräften gewaltsam aufgelöst und trat eine fatale Gewaltspirale los, in dessen Verlauf über 300 Menschen getötet wurden. Eine Stabilisierung der Lage ist zurzeit nicht in Sicht.

Nicaragua kommt nicht zur Ruhe. Auslöser für die grössten Unruhen seit der Revolution von 1979 war eine vom autoritären Präsidenten Daniel Ortega vorgestellte Rentenreform. Diese sollte eigentlich die maroden Staatsfinanzen aufbessern, liess aber in dem zentralamerikanischen Land die Dämme brechen: nach jahrelang steigender Spannung im Schatten von Wahlmanipulationsvorwürfen und Demokratieabbau, willkürlichen Enteignungen von Bauern sowie massenhaften Entlassungen im öffentlichen Sektor, hatte das Volk genug. Im April 2018 protestierten tausende Nicaraguaner und Nicaraguanerinnen auf den Strassen der Hauptstadt Managua – eine ursprünglich friedliche Kundgebung, die jedoch gewaltsam von den Sicherheitskräften aufgelöst wurde. Mehrere Menschen kamen dabei ums Leben.

Diese harsche Reaktion der Regierung entzündete ein Lauffeuer an landesweiten Protesten – diesmal jedoch gegen Ortega selbst gerichtet. In den nachfolgenden Wochen kam es vielerorts zu Massenprotesten, Strassenblockaden und Streiks, welche von den Sicherheitskräften sowie paramilitärischen Gruppen teilweise in brutalen Strassenschlachten aufgelöst wurden, nicht selten mit tödlichem Ausgang für Zivilisten.

Im August gelang es der Regierung schliesslich, die letzten Barrikaden zu räumen und damit die Protestbewegung zurückzudrängen. Von einer Beruhigung der Lage kann jedoch nicht die Rede sein: mit eiserner Faust versucht Ortega nun, jegliches erneute Aufflammen der Proteste im Keim zu ersticken. Sicherheitskräfte und paramilitärische Gruppen patrouillieren die Strassen, dringen in Häuser ein und verhaften willkürlich Personen. In ihrem Bericht vom August wirft die UNO-Menschenrechtskommission der nicaraguanischen Führungsriege denn auch «unverhältnismässige Gewaltanwendung» vor, welche sich in schweren Menschenrechtsverletzungen gegen Regierungskritiker äussert: aussergerichtliche Hinrichtungen, das «Verschwindenlassen» von Menschen, massenhafte willkürliche Inhaftierungen sowie Folter und Misshandlungen seien zu verzeichnen.

Demonstrationen finden zwar nach wie vor statt. Die Kraft der Protestbewegung scheint jedoch angesichts des brutalen Vorgehens der Regierung allmählich zu versiegen: aufgrund der Repressionen mussten bereits tausende Demonstranten und Regierungskritiker untertauchen oder gar aus dem Land fliehen, ihre Arbeit oder ihr Studium aufgeben sowie ihre Familien verlassen. Dies zermürbt die Bewegung zunehmend, wodurch sich Ortega gemäss Einschätzung einiger Analysten bis auf Weiteres an der Macht halten dürfte.

Die Folgen der Unruhen sind jedoch verheerend und verschärfen eine bereits schwierige Situation: die Wirtschaft liegt am Boden, die Armut breitet sich weiter aus und die instabile Sicherheitslage in Kombination mit der durch die Proteste lahmgelegten Infrastruktur führen zu Engpässen in der Grundversorgung. Nebst fehlender Nahrungsmittel und Hygieneartikel bedeutet dies einen limitierten Zugang zu Medikamenten und Spitälern. Hinzu kommt die Desillusionierung vieler Nicaraguaner, die solch bürgerkriegsähnliche Zustände als überwunden glaubten. Langfristig dürften diese Faktoren die Frustration in der Bevölkerung weiter verstärken und zu neuerlichen Protesten mit gewaltsamen Auseinandersetzungen führen, insbesondere da Ortega jeglichen Dialog verweigert.

Im Angesicht der oben beschriebenen Situation, in die auch leicht Unbeteiligte hineingezogen werden können, sowie der allgemein hohen Kriminalität besteht zurzeit ein sehr hohes Sicherheitsrisiko.

Findest du diesen Beitrag hilfreich?