When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Hotspot report

Rohingya crisis and violence in Myanmar – What’s going to happen now?

Myanmar, 27/11/2017 byCéline Neuenschwander

In August we received the first reports of the Rohingya people’s mass exodus from Myanmar into neighboring Bangladesh. The unrest in parts of Myanmar is not a new development, but what is noteworthy is the timing of its escalation. This hotspot article looks at why the conflict has escalated at this point in time and who benefits from the turmoil within Myanmar.

Rohingya are the ethnic Muslim minority group who until now have lived in the Burmese Rakhine State. In the past there has often been conflict between members of the Muslim Rohingya and the Buddhist majority. This was an extremely difficult situation for the Rohingya because they were prevented from settling or owning land. What’s more, many Rohingya are stateless and are classed as illegal immigrants.

The last wave of extreme violence in Rakhine was in 2012. The Rohingya were the target of this religious and ethnically charged turmoil. Its trigger was the murder of a Buddhist woman, for which three Rohingya men were blamed and as a result, 10 Rohingya men were murdered. After Myanmar’s first free elections in 2015, the Rohingya people once again fled to other Southeast Asian states.

On 25th August 2017, the conflict saw a fresh outbreak of violence. Following an attack on border police by the Arakan Rohingya Salvation Army (ARSA), whole Rohingya villages were burned down. These were described by human rights organizations as targeted attacks by the Burmese army. However, the troops said that they were only acting in response to attacks by insurgents.

Since then, a new wave of forced migration began for the Rohingya. Around 580 000 Rohingya have fled to Bangladesh since the outbreak of the crisis, where in many cases they are enduring desolate conditions in refugee camps. The stream of refugees will decrease in the foreseeable future, simply because there will soon be no Rohingya left in Rakhine. Will this stabilize the situation in Myanmar? Unfortunately, that is an unlikely scenario. The unrest in Myanmar has entirely different reasons at its core.

 

Decision-making in the interests of neighboring states at the cost of minorities

 

The Rohingya crisis has to be seen in a wider context to better understand the interests which lie behind it. Myanmar’s two influential neighbors, China and India, play a key role.

Since the beginning of the political and economic liberalization of Myanmar, China, to the north, has been steadily losing influence. For many years, China was Myanmar’s main trading partner, which enabled it to exercise influence on the country. China’s main interest was the fact that it could obtain access to the Indian Ocean via Myanmar and thus open a secure transport route. Additionally, China could further develop its southern areas. But at present, China’s hold over Myanmar is waning. The reason for this is India, which is building ever stronger relationships with the country.

Since the liberalization, India has also been an increasingly important partner for Myanmar, while for India, Myanmar is of political and economic significance. Positive Indian-Burmese relations mean India can guarantee security in its border regions, subdue insurgency within its own country and gain access to new markets.

By becoming involved in Myanmar’s internal affairs, China has the opportunity to strengthen its own position in the neighboring country. This is where the Rohingya conflict comes into play. Using the internal unrest in Myanmar, China can exercise pressure on the country and ultimately try to assert its own interests. To achieve this purpose China can transfer financial aid to the parties involved in the conflict and fuel the turmoil by providing false information. In addition to the Rohingya conflict, China is also purported to be providing financial support to other rebel groups in the north of Myanmar.

Looking ahead, under these conditions the wrangling in the power struggle for influence in the Southeast Asian state is set to continue. Even if the Rohingya exodus decreases in the foreseeable future, a détente in the security situation within Myanmar cannot be expected any time soon.

Did you find this entry helpful?

Auf Reisen läuft nicht immer alles nach Plan...Darum haben wir einen Plan b! Als Soliswiss Mitglied bist du im Ausland und in deinem Wohnland automatisch vor politischen Risiken geschützt.Mehr erfahren
Hotspot Bericht

Rohingya Krise und Unruhen in Myanmar – wie geht es weiter?

Myanmar, 27.11.2017 vonCéline Neuenschwander

Im August erreichten uns erste Meldungen über die massenhafte Flucht der Rohingya Gruppe aus Myanmar ins benachbarte Bangladesch. Die Unruhen in Teilen Myanmars sind nicht neu, bemerkenswert ist der Zeitpunkt der Eskalation. Warum gerade jetzt der Konflikt eskalierte und wer von den Unruhen innerhalb Myanmars profitiert, steht in diesem Hotspot Artikel.

Rohingya heisst die muslimische Minderheitengruppe, die bis anhin im burmesischen Teilstaat Rakhine lebte. In der Vergangenheit kam es immer zu Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Angehörigen der muslimischen Rohingya und der buddhistischen Mehrheit. Die Rohingya hatten dabei einen schweren Stand: Ihnen wurde bis anhin verwehrt sich Niederzulassen oder Land zu besitzen. Ausserdem sind viele Rohingyas staatenlos und werden als illegale Einwanderer klassifiziert.

Letztmals kam es 2012 zu schweren Ausschreitungen im Teilstaat Rakhine. Die religiös und ethnisch aufgeladenen Unruhen richteten sich dabei gegen die Rohingya. Ausgangspunkt war die Ermordung einer Buddhistin, die drei Rohingya Männern angelastet wurde. Infolge dessen wurden 10 Rohingya Männer ermordet. Nach den ersten freien Wahlen 2015 in Myanmar flohen abermals Rohingyas in andere südostasiatische Staaten.

Am 25. August in diesem Jahr erreichte der Konflikt ein neues Ausmass. Nach einem Angriff der Arakan Rohingya Salvation Army ARSA werden ganze Dörfer der Rohingya Minderheit abgebrannt. Gemäss Menschenrechtsorganisationen handelte es sich hierbei um gezielte Angriffe durch die burmesische Armee. Diese behauptet wiederum, nur auf Angriffe von Aufständischen reagiert zu haben.

Ab da begann für die Rohingyas eine neue Welle des Exodus. Rund 580 000 Rohingyas flüchteten seit Ausbruch der Krise ins benachbarte Bangladesch, wo sie oftmals unter desolaten Zuständen in Flüchtlingscamps ausharren. Der Flüchtlingsstrom wird in absehbarer Zeit abnehmen, allein deswegen, weil bald keine Rohingyas mehr in Rakhine leben. Wird sich dadurch die Lage in Myanmar wieder stabilisieren? Dieses Szenario ist leider unwahrscheinlich. Denn hinter den Unruhen in Myanmar stecken noch ganz andere Gründe.

 

Die Interessen der Nachbarstaaten entscheiden auf Kosten von Minderheiten

 

Die Rohingya Krise muss in einem grösseren Kontext gesehen werden, um die dahinterstehenden Interessen besser verstehen zu können. Dabei spielen die beiden einflussreichen Nachbarn Myanmars, China und Indien, eine wichtige Rolle.

Seit Beginn der politischen und wirtschaftlichen Öffnung Myanmars, verliert das nördlich gelegene China stetig an Einfluss. Jahrelang war China Myanmars Haupthandelspartner und übte dadurch Einfluss auf das Land aus. Chinas Hauptinteresse liegt darin, via Myanmar Zugang zum indischen Ozean zu erhalten und sich damit eine sichere Transportroute zu eröffnen. Zusätzlich kann China seine südlichen Gebiete weiter entwickeln. Doch aktuell sinkt Chinas Einfluss auf Myanmar. Grund dafür ist Indien, das immer mehr Beziehungen zu Myanmar aufbaut.

Seit der Öffnung wird auch Indien ein zunehmend wichtiger Partner für Myanmar. Für Indien ist Myanmar von politischer und wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung. Von guten indisch-burmesischen Beziehungen kann Indien die Sicherheit in den Grenzgebieten sichern, aufständische Bewegungen im eigenen Land bändigen und Zugang zu neuen Märkten gewinnen.

Durch die Einmischung in Myanmars innere Angelegenheiten hat China die Möglichkeit, die eigene Position im Nachbarstaat zu stärken. Hier kommt nun der Rohingya Konflikt ins Spiel. Anhand von inneren Unruhen in Myanmar kann China auf das Land Druck ausüben und versuchen, schlussendlich die eigenen Interessen durchzusetzen. Zu diesem Zweck kann China finanzielle Hilfe an die Konfliktparteien übermitteln und die Unruhen mittels falscher Informationen anheizen. Nebst dem Rohingya Konflikt existieren noch weitere Rebellengruppen im Norden Myanmars, die von China mutmasslich finanziell unterstützt werden.

Unter diesen Umständen wird das Kräftemessen und Ringen um Einfluss im südostasiatischen Staat in naher Zukunft weitergehen. Auch wenn der Exodus der Rohingyas in absehbarer Zeit abnehmen wird, ist eine schnelle Entspannung der Sicherheitslage innerhalb Myanmars noch nicht zu erwarten.

 

Findest du diesen Beitrag hilfreich?