When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Hotspot report

Nicaragua: A Country Plunged into Chaos

Nicaragua, 25/09/2018 bySteven Sohn

Mass protests, street battles, and human rights violations: what began as a peaceful protest against planned pension reforms by the government of Daniel Ortega was brutally broken up by Nicaraguan security forces, triggering a fatal spiral of violence that has led to the deaths of over 300 people. There is currently no sign of the situation stabilizing.

Peace is not returning to Nicaragua. The greatest unrest since the 1979 revolution was unleashed by pension reforms put forward by authoritarian president Daniel Ortega. Originally devised with the intention to improve the state’s ailing public finances, the scheme has pushed the Central American country over the edge. After many years of simmering tensions under the shadow of allegations of electoral fraud, the erosion of democracy, arbitrary expropriation of farmers, as well as mass lay-offs in the public sector, the people reached their boiling point. In April 2018, thousands of Nicaraguans took their protest to the streets of the capital of Managua. The originally peaceful demonstration, however, was violently broken up by security forces, with a number of civilians losing their lives.

This harsh response by the government sparked a chain of protest across the country – this time directed at Ortega himself. In the weeks that followed, mass protests, roadblocks, and strikes broke out in many locations, some of which were dispersed by security forces and paramilitary groups in brutal street battles – often with fatal outcomes for civilians.

In August, the government finally succeeded in clearing the remaining barricades and thereby in pushing back the protest movement. However, the situation has not abated: Ortega is now attempting to stifle any renewed flare-up of the protests with an iron fist. Security forces and paramilitary groups are now reported to be patrolling the streets, forcing their way into homes and arbitrarily arresting people. In its August report, the United Nations Commission on Human Rights accused the Nicaraguan leadership of a “disproportionate use of force” as manifested in serious human rights abuses against critics of the government: extrajudicial killings, “enforced disappearances,” widespread arbitrary detentions, torture, and ill-treatment have all been documented.

Nevertheless, demonstrations are still taking place to this day. However, the protest movement’s strength seems to be gradually fading in the face of this brutal repression. Persecution is already driving thousands of demonstrators and opponents of the government underground or out of the country entirely, forcing them to give up their work or studies and leave their families behind. More and more this is having a demoralizing effect on the movement, as a result of which some analysts expect Ortega will hold on to power for the time being.

However, the consequences of this turmoil are already devastating. With the economy on its knees, poverty continues to spread. The critical security situation combined with an infrastructure paralyzed by protests has led to serious shortages of basic supplies. Along with a lack of food and hygiene products, this means limited access to medication and hospitals. These factors, in conjunction with the bitter disillusionment that many Nicaraguans feel after having believed the country past such civil-war-like conditions, lay the groundwork for a continuingly tense situation. Thus, in the long run, the population’s frustration might increase again to the point that renewed protests with violent clashes might result, dragging the country further down a dark path of violence and unrest.

In view of the situation described above, into which even uninvolved parties can easily be drawn, as well as the generally high level of criminal activity, the security risk in Nicaragua is currently very high.

Did you find this entry helpful?

Tout ne fonctionne pas toujours comme prévu en voyage...C'est pour cela que nous avons un Plan b! En tant que membre Soliswiss, tu es automatiquement protégé(e) contre les risques politiques en voyage et dans ton pays de résidence!En savoir plus
Article Hotspot

Nicaragua: un pays s’abîme dans le chaos

Nicaragua, 25/09/2018 parSteven Sohn

Protestations massives, combats de rue et violations des droits de l’homme: la violente dissolu-tion, par les forces de l’ordre nicaraguayennes, d’une manifestation initialement pacifique contre une réforme du régime des retraites prévue par le gouvernement de Daniel Ortega a entraîné une spirale de violence sans précédent tuant plus de 300 personnes. La situation ne semble actuelle-ment pas prête de se stabiliser.

Le Nicaragua reste agité. Une réforme du régime des retraites présentée par le président autoritaire Daniel Ortega a déclenché les plus grands troubles que le pays a connus depuis la révolution de 1979. Cette réforme qui était en fait censée améliorer l’état des finances publiques en berne a pourtant fait rompre les digues dans ce pays d’Amérique centrale: après des années de tension croissante sous le spectre d’accusations de fraudes électorales et d’atteintes à la démocratie, d’expropriations arbitraires de paysans et de licenciements économiques massifs dans le secteur public, le peuple en a eu assez. En avril 2018, des milliers de Nicaraguayens et de Nicaraguayennes ont manifesté dans les rues de Managua, la capitale. Ce rassemblement qui se voulait pacifique a cependant été violemment dissous par les forces de l’ordre nicaraguayennes. Plusieurs personnes y ont trouvé la mort.

Cette réaction brutale du gouvernement a mis le feu aux poudres, entraînant des manifestations dans tout le pays – cette fois-ci dirigées contre Ortega lui-même. Dans les semaines qui ont suivi, de nombreux lieux du pays ont été le théâtre de manifestations de masse, de barrages de rues et de grèves, que les forces de sécurité et des groupes paramilitaires ont dissous en partie dans des combats de rue violents, ayant souvent eu des conséquences mortelles pour les civils.

Au mois d’août, le gouvernement a enfin réussi à lever les dernières barricades et à endiguer le mouvement de contestation. On ne peut toutefois pas dire que la situation soit revenue au calme: avec une poigne de fer, Ortega essaie maintenant de tuer dans l’œuf toute nouvelle flambée de protestation. Les forces de sécurité et des groupes paramilitaires patrouillent dans les rues, entrent dans les maisons et procèdent à des arrestations arbitraires. Dans son rapport du mois d’août, la Commission des droits de l’homme de l’ONU reproche aussi aux dirigeants nicaraguayens «une utilisation disproportionnée de la force» qui se traduit par des violations graves des droits de l’homme infligées aux opposants du gouvernement. Elle recense des exécutions expéditives, des «disparitions de personnes», des emprisonnements arbitraires massifs, ainsi que torture et mauvais traitements.

La population continue de manifester, mais la force du mouvement semble progressivement s’essouffler devant la brutalité de l’appareil étatique: en raison des persécutions, des milliers de manifestants et d’opposants du gouvernement ont été obligés de tomber dans la clandestinité, voire de fuir le pays, d’abandonner leur travail ou leurs études, et de quitter leurs familles. Cette situation sape le moral du mouvement, ce qui d’après quelques analystes, permettra à Ortega de se maintenir au pouvoir momentanément.

Les conséquences de ces troubles sont toutefois désastreuses: l’économie est exsangue, la pauvreté croissante, et la situation sécuritaire instable. S’ajoute à cela une paralysie des infrastructures du fait des manifestations, engendrant des pénuries dans l’approvisionnement de base. Outre le manque de denrées alimentaires et de produits d’hygiène, ces problèmes se traduisent par un accès limité aux médicaments et aux hôpitaux. À cela s’ajoute la désillusion de nombreux Nicaraguayens qui avaient cru que ces situations proches de la guerre civile étaient révolues. À long terme, ces facteurs devraient encore renforcer la frustration de la population et entraîner de nouvelles manifestations accompagnées d’affrontements violents, notamment parce qu’Ortega refuse tout dialogue.

Trouves-tu cet article utile ?