When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Fifth Switzerland

The Continuous Growth of Fifth Switzerland

Worldwide, 05/04/2019 bySteven Sohn

The Federal Statistical Office (FSO) has recently published its statistics on Swiss citizens living abroad for the year 2018. We have taken a closer look at the data and identified some interesting developments. In the first installment of our article series "Fifth Switzerland", we present you with an overview of the most important facts and figures.

The Swiss community living abroad – the so-called “Fifth Switzerland” – is evermore growing. Over the past twenty years, the population of Swiss citizens living outside Switzerland has indeed increased without interruption and now stands at around 760,000.

The Swiss community abroad would thus form the fourth largest canton in terms of population, after the cantons of Zurich (approx. 1.5 million inhabitants), Berne (around 1 million) and Vaud (ca. 790,000), but still far ahead of the canton of Aargau with its 680,000 inhabitants.

In other words, about 10.6% of all Swiss – i.e. one in ten – live outside the Confederation’s borders. This is a remarkable figure, as a comparison particularly with our neighboring countries demonstrates: for example, the community of Germans living abroad represents only about 4.1% of the total of Germany’s population. In the case of France, it is 4.5%, for Austria 6.6%, and for Italy 6.8%. Unfortunately, no reliable data are available for Liechtenstein.

 

A Historically Grown Diaspora

Why is the Swiss diaspora so large, though? The reasons are to be found in history: until the 20th century, the Switzerland was in fact one of the poorest countries in Europe. Faced with dismal misery, many Swiss people saw no alternative but to seek a better life abroad, especially in neighboring countries and overseas (above all in the USA, Argentina and Canada). Another historical reason, closely related to said prevalence of poverty, is probably the large number of Swiss mercenaries abroad. For a long time, Swiss warriors were appreciated all over the world as particularly tough fighters.

Furthermore, the Swiss have always been a nation of traders: the domestic market quickly became too small, especially with industrialization, so that numerous trade missions set off abroad in search of new markets.

Apart from these historical factors, Swiss citizenship law is another central reason: when Swiss couples become parents, their children also receive the Swiss passport – even if they are born abroad; the same applies if only one parent possesses Swiss citizenship. As a result, the Swiss community abroad grows steadily. In addition, since 1992 dual citizenship has been possible without restrictions under Swiss law, although the other state’s legislation remains decisive. The effect on the size of the Swiss community living abroad depends thus on how quickly one may become a Swiss citizen in the new home country, and whether one has to forfeit one’s Swiss citizenship. 75% of all Swiss abroad own at least two passports.

Perhaps, though, we Swiss have simply always been a people of restless dreamers. Small Switzerland, with its every present mountain walls and its densely populated cities may quickly appear to be too cramped, so that many people prefer to go settle in foreign lands. Ultimately, the reasons are probably as varied as the individuals behind each of these emigration stories are.

 

Asia Becoming Increasingly Popular as an Emigration Destination

Whatever may be the reasons, one thing is certain: Fifth Switzerland has grown in a remarkably constant manner over the last twenty years:

Seeing this graph, one might think that in 2007, a record year, a particularly high number of Swiss people abandoned the Confederation. According to the FSO, however, this spike appeared presumably due to Swiss citizens who had already been living abroad for some time, but who officially registered just in 2007. This is probably related to the imminent final expiry of the old Model 85 passports. Apart from this anomaly, the Swiss community abroad steadily grew with an annual rate of 1.2% to 2.3%. In 2018, it grew by 1.1%.

A look at the growth rates on a continental level further reveals some interesting facts: last year, the number of Swiss citizens living abroad grew most significantly in Europe at 1.5%, closely followed by Asia (+1.1%) and Oceania (0.9%). The growth of the Swiss community in North America, on the other hand, has somewhat slowed down – in particular because of the difficult situation in Mexico.

As for Latin America and Africa, their growth rates have plummeted to -0.5% respectively. In the case of Latin America, this development is mainly due to the economic hardship and violence in Venezuela, Nicaragua and Brazil, which prompted many Swiss citizens to move to Switzerland or another country. Various African countries such as Ghana, Morocco and Tunisia are also seeing an exodus of Swiss citizens.

Considering the annual growth rates per continent over the last 20 years, 2007 – once again – stands out as a statistical anomaly (see explanation above). Apart from that, growth rates of the Swiss community in Asia is also striking: after a brief slump at the end of the last millennium – presumably due to the financial and economic crisis of 1997-1998 in East Asia – the Swiss population living in Asia has morphed into the fastest growing one. In contrast, the demographic evolution in Europe, Oceania and America has remained relatively stable; nonetheless, the financial crisis of 2008 had a clear impact on the Swiss community in America: after 2008, growth contracted for years until in 2011, at +0.3%, it reached its lowest level since 2002. The situation in Africa has proven even less stable: growth rates have been heavily fluctuating, spiking in some years (for example in 2012), and turning negative in others (as happened in 2016).

How can these developments be explained? Which countries are particularly trendy? Which countries are the Swiss abroad turning their backs on? These and other questions are addressed in the following parts of our article series “Fifth Switzerland.”

 

 

Hotspot Worldwide

Hotspot report

On the War Front: Up Close and Personal

18/05/2018ofCéline Neuenschwander

When he’s not teaching, Alex Kühni goes to war. As a war journalist he documents the conflicts that take place in this world. His goal is to raise the awareness of people living in the West. In order to do this, he often risks his life. Kühni won this year\'s Swiss Press Photo Award in the abroad category. This is an interview that hovers between the classroom and the war front

Did you find this entry helpful?

Tout ne fonctionne pas toujours comme prévu en voyage...C'est pour cela que nous avons un Plan b! En tant que membre Soliswiss, tu es automatiquement protégé(e) contre les risques politiques en voyage et dans ton pays de résidence!En savoir plus
La Cinquième Suisse

La croissance incessante de la Cinquième Suisse

Monde entier, 05/04/2019 parSteven Sohn

L’Office fédéral de la statistique (OFS) a publié la statistique des Suisses de l'étranger pour l'année 2018. Nous avons examiné les données de plus près et identifié quelques développements intéressants. Lisez ici la première partie de notre série d'articles «La Cinquième Suisse» pour en savoir plus!

Le nombre de citoyens et citoyennes Suisses vivant à l’étranger (la «Cinquième Suisse») ne cesse de s’agrandir – c’est ce qui démontrent les chiffres de l’Office fédéral de la statistique. Au cours des vingt dernières années, ce nombre a augmenté sans interruption et s’élève aujourd’hui à environ 760’000 de personnes. 

En termes de population, la Cinquième Suisse se classe ainsi au quatrième rang parmi tous les cantons, dépassée seulement par les cantons de Zurich (1,5 million d’habitants), Berne (1 million) et Vaud (790’000), mais dépassant largement l’Argovie avec ses 680’000 habitants, qui se situerait ainsi au cinquième rang.

En d’autres termes, environ 10,6% de tous les Suisses – c’est-à-dire un sur dix – vivent en dehors des frontières de la Confédération suisse. C’est un chiffre tout à fait remarquable, comme le montre notamment la comparaison avec nos pays voisins: la communauté des Allemands à l’étranger ne représente qu’environ 4,1% de la population totale de l’Allemagne. Dans le cas de la France, le chiffre s’élève à 4,5%, à 6,6% pour l’Autriche et à 6,8% pour l’Italie. Malheureusement, il n’y a pas de données fiables pour le Liechtenstein.

 

Une diaspora avec une longue histoire

Mais pourquoi la diaspora suisse est-elle si grande? Les raisons sont à chercher dans l’histoire de la Confédération: jusqu’au XXe siècle, la Suisse était en fait l’un des pays les plus pauvres et les moins développés d’Europe. Face à leur situation précaire, de nombreux Suisses décidèrent de chercher leur fortune à l’étranger, par exemple dans les pays voisins ou outre-Atlantique (en particulier aux Etats-Unis, en Argentine et au Canada). Une deuxième raison historique, étroitement liée à ladite prévalence de la pauvreté, est probablement le grand nombre de mercenaires suisse. Pendant longtemps, les guerriers suisses étaient considérés dans le monde entier comme des combattants particulièrement forts et durs.

Par ailleurs, les Suisses ont toujours été une nation de commerçants : le modeste marché intérieur devint rapidement trop petit, surtout avec l’industrialisation, de sorte que de nombreuses missions commerciales partirent à l’étranger à la recherche de nouveaux marchés.

Au-delà de ces facteurs historiques, la loi sur la nationalité suisse est une autre raison importante: quand des parents suisses donnent naissance à un enfant, celui-ci reçoit également le passeport suisse – même s’il est né à l’étranger; il en va de même si seulement un des parents possède la nationalité suisse. En conséquence, la Cinquième Suisse croît simultanément avec le nombre d’enfants. En outre, depuis 1992, la double nationalité est admise sans restriction en droit suisse, la législation du second Etat restant toutefois déterminante. L’impact sur la communauté suisse à l’étranger dépend ainsi de la rapidité avec laquelle on peut acquérir la nationalité suisse dans le nouveau pays, et si on doit renoncer à la nationalité suisse. 75% des Suisses de l’étranger possèdent au moins deux passeports.

Peut-être les Suisses ont toujours été tout simplement un peuple de rêveurs agités. La petite Suisse, entouré par ce mur montagneux et avec ses villes densément peuplées peut se prêter à sembler trop exiguë, de sorte que beaucoup de gens décident de chercher leur fortune ailleurs. En fin de compte, les raisons sont probablement aussi variées que les histoires individuelles des Suisses de l’étranger.

 

L’Asie en plein essor en tant que destination d’émigration

Quelles que soient les raisons pour l’émigration, une chose est certaine: la Cinquième Suisse a connu une croissance constante et remarquable au cours des 20 dernières années:

Le diagramme est trompeur: ce n’est pas le cas qu’au cours de l’année record 2007 un nombre extraordinaire de Suisses aurait tourné leur dos à la Confédération. Selon l’OFS, il s’agirait plutôt d’une hausse extraordinaire d’immatriculation des personnes déjà résidant à l’étranger depuis un certain temps. Cela est probablement lié à l’expiration finale des passeports de l’ancien modèle 85. Au-delà de cette anomalie, la communauté suisse à l’étranger a toujours vu un taux de croissance annuel entre 1,2% et 2,3%. En 2018, il s’est élevé à 1.1%.

En examinant le taux de croissance au niveau des continents, d’autres faits intéressent se révèlent: en 2018, c’est en Europe que le nombre de Suisses de l’étranger a augmenté le plus fortement (+1,5%), suivi de près par l’Asie (+1,1%) et l’Océanie (+0,9%). La croissance de la colonie suisse en Amérique du Nord, en revanche, s’est quelque peu ralentie, notamment en raison de la situation tendue au Mexique.

L’Amérique latine et l’Afrique affichent même des taux de croissance négatifs de -0,5% chacun. Dans le cas de l’Amérique latine, cette évolution est principalement due aux difficultés économiques et à la violence au Venezuela, au Nicaragua et au Brésil, incitant de nombreux Suisses à retourner à la Confédération ou à émigrer ailleurs. Certains pays africains comme le Ghana, le Maroc et la Tunisie voient également un exode de citoyens suisses.

Si l’on considère l’évolution des taux de croissance par continent au cours des 20 dernières années, 2007 est encore une fois une année qui saute aux yeux. Il s’agit cependant de la même anomalie expliquée plus haut.

Mais la croissance en Asie est également frappante: après une brève chute vers la fin du dernier millénaire – probablement due à la crise financière, monétaire et économique de 1997-1998 en Asie de l’Est -, c’est la colonie suisse de l’étranger qui a connu la plus forte croissance. L’évolution en Europe, en Océanie et en Amérique, en revanche, est restée relativement stable, même si les effets de la crise financière sont particulièrement évidents en Amérique: après 2008, la croissance s’est contractée sans cesse jusqu’en 2002, quand elle a atteint le niveau le plus bas depuis 2002; la situation en Afrique est encore moins stable: l’évolution est marquée par de fortes fluctuations, présentant des hausses significatives comme en 2012, juste pour chuter par la suite dans le négatif comme en 2016.

Comment expliquer ces évolutions sur les continents? Quels sont les pays particulièrement à la mode? Quels pays voient une décroissance de leur population suisse? Ces questions et bien d’autres encore seront abordées dans les parties suivantes de notre série d’articles « La Cinquième Suisse. » 

 

Hotspot Monde entier

Article Hotspot

Sur la ligne de front, muni d’un appareil photo

18/05/2018parCéline Neuenschwander

Quand il ne donne pas cours, Alex Kühni se rend dans des zones de combat. En tant que reporter de guerre, il documente les conflits de ce monde. Son objectif: sensibiliser les habitants des pays occidentaux, souvent au péril de sa vie. Avec ses travaux, Kühni a remporté cette année le prix Swiss Press Photo Award dans la catégorie des photos prises à l’étranger. Une interview sur une vie partagée entre salle de classe et front armé.

Trouves-tu cet article utile ?