When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Expertise

Of Estonians and Blocks: The Future of E-Voting in Switzerland

Worldwide, 26/04/2019 bySteven Sohn

E-voting - an emotional affair. Given the sometimes heated debates between its advocates and opponents, it is perhaps wise to take a step back and broaden our perspective. What are the challenges? Are there examples that we can learn from? What could be some feasible solutions? Read on to see what we can learn from Estonia and blockchain-based technologies.

E-voting, i.e. electronic voting over the internet, seems to be leaving only few people cold. Indeed, e-voting has been on the political agenda for nearly 20 years. Over this period, many trials and projects have been launched, executed and also scrapped. Recently, the e-voting system used by the Swiss Post has been making headlines as the project was suspended in March 2019 due to critical system errors and security concerns.

E-voting is being met with strong opposition: some citizens have even gone as far as preparing a people’s initiative for a de facto ban on e-voting. Critics are receiving support from players in the IT world, with the Chaos Computer Club (CCC) Switzerland coming out as an especially staunch opponent. The opposition are particularly concerned with the security of e-voting as it is said to be susceptible to manipulation by hackers, making it possible for voting and election results to be altered.

Proponents of e-voting counter this argument by saying that fraud cannot be ruled out in traditional paper ballot voting, either, whereas e-voting at least offers promising opportunities to minimize this risk. The Organization of the Swiss Abroad (OSA) is one of several supporters leading the fight for e-voting, which is of particular concern to many Swiss living abroad since the long postal routes often result in voting documents failing to reach their recipients in time. E-voting would enable votes to be cast at any time and from any place, thereby ensuring that the Swiss community abroad could participate in democratic processes without a hitch.

Thus, the situation in Switzerland is rather controversial. What do other countries have to say?

 

Paving the Way: Estonia

Globally, there are practically no established e-voting systems. A few countries, such as France, Norway and Germany, have conducted experiments, or at the very least discussed them. Leading the way, however, is a smaller and often overlooked country: Estonia. Back in 2005, this Baltic nation was the only country in the world to have implemented a comprehensive e-voting system, even though they had not been discussing the topic nearly as long as Switzerland.


                  Tallinn, Capital of Estonia | A. Palu @ Wikimedia Commons

When it comes to one particular point, the Estonian approach differs greatly from that of Switzerland: voter identification. For democratic reasons, it is necessary to ensure that only those entitled to vote may participate. In Estonia, this is made possible thanks to identity cards equipped with a computer chip. To identify the voter, the card is placed into a specific card reader, and a personal code has to be entered. Only then is the voter able to access the voting page. To confirm the vote placed, the voter needs another personal code, which upon being entered encrypts and thereby anonymizes the vote.

In the Swiss Post’s system, however, voters are to receive such an identification code by post that they need to enter prior to casting votes. According to the proponents, the Estonian system’s identification card solution is not only simpler but also involves fewer risks. In fact, there have not been any major issues with the Estonian system thus far, notably also due to constant monitoring and ongoing adjustments of the system.

By now, e-voting has become the norm for Estonians. In recent years, the number of e-voters has steadily increased, although the impacts on overall voter turnout are still being debated. What’s for sure is that Estonians are proud of their system and pioneering role.

 

Blockchain as a Solution for Switzerland?

What we’ve learned from Estonia is that e-voting is possible. Yet despite their positive experiences, security concerns should not be swept aside. Also, it is not possible to simply adopt the Estonian system due to the special characteristics of Swiss democracy.

However, a possible solution could come from Zug, the so-called “Crypto Valley”. The most promising systems are based on blockchain technologies, which have grown in popularity in recent times as a result of the hype surrounding Bitcoin.

Simply stated, when using blockchain technology, information – e.g. a “yes” vote – is stored in the form of a “block”, as illustrated in Block C below. Every block has its own “hash” based on the information stored. This serves as an identification code and cannot easily be altered. One block is then joined to other blocks, ultimately forming a “chain”. The hashes are necessary in order to connect the blocks: Every block contains its own hash in addition to the hash of the block that precedes it. This is how the blocks are “chained” together.

If a hacker tries to change the information in our Block C (e.g. by changing our “yes” vote to a “no” vote), this results in a change to the block’s hash. This hash then no longer corresponds to the hash stored to the subsequent block, causing the chain to break apart. As a result, it is easy to identify manipulation.

What makes this brilliant is that the chain is not stored at a centralized location. On the contrary, identical copies of the chains are distributed across multiple servers. In doing so – and contrary to the current Swiss Post system – there is no central point that hackers can target, resulting in increased security.

Additionally, the copies serve as “checks and balances” for each other: If part of a chain is modified, the changed version will no longer correspond with the copies, and can thus be easily identified. The decisive information is therefore the information that is contained in the majority of the copies. To go back to our example: If a hacker changes our “yes” vote to a “no” vote, this will be recognized by the copies containing our correct vote. In the end, our positive vote will still have been recorded, leaving the manipulation attempt unsuccessful.

That is what makes the system interesting. Manipulating a nationwide vote in a systematic, widespread and undetected manner will be very difficult to accomplish. Indeed, some would even go as far to say that it makes it impossible. However, critics warn against underestimating the risks as no system can guarantee 100% security.

 

Careful Consideration Required

So, is blockchain the solution? Ultimately, the pros and cons including the risks will need to be carefully weighed out. But to do so, honest discussions are needed – not just on the part of politicians but in society as a whole. After all, it is our democracy that is at stake here.

 

Hotspot Worldwide

Hotspot report

On the War Front: Up Close and Personal

18/05/2018ofCéline Neuenschwander

When he’s not teaching, Alex Kühni goes to war. As a war journalist he documents the conflicts that take place in this world. His goal is to raise the awareness of people living in the West. In order to do this, he often risks his life. Kühni won this year\'s Swiss Press Photo Award in the abroad category. This is an interview that hovers between the classroom and the war front

Did you find this entry helpful?

Tout ne fonctionne pas toujours comme prévu en voyage...C'est pour cela que nous avons un Plan b! En tant que membre Soliswiss, tu es automatiquement protégé(e) contre les risques politiques en voyage et dans ton pays de résidence!En savoir plus
Expertise

D’Estoniens et de blocs: l’avenir du e-voting en Suisse

Monde entier, 26/04/2019 parSteven Sohn

Le vote électronique, une question émotionnelle. Face aux discussions enflammées entre partisans et opposants, il est utile de prendre du recul et d’élargir notre champ de vision. Quels sont les défis? Y a-t-il des exemples dont nous pouvons nous inspirer? Quelles pourraient être des solutions viables? Découvrez ici comment l’Estonie et la technologie «blockchain» pourraient apporter des réponses au débat

Le e-voting, à savoir le vote et l’élection électroniques par Internet, ne laisse qu’une minorité de personnes indifférentes. Depuis maintenant presque 20 ans, la votation numérique est à l’ordre du jour politique. De multiples tentatives et projets ont été lancés, mis en place et aussi remis au placard. Dernièrement, le système de vote électronique de la Poste a fait les gros titres lorsqu’en mars 2019, il a été décidé d’interrompre le projet à cause d’erreurs de système critiques et de doutes sur la sécurité.

Encore une fois, le e-voting est donc fortement contesté: une initiative populaire visant une de facto interdiction est même en préparation actuellement. Les critiques du vote électronique reçoivent le soutien d’une partie du monde de l’informatique, le Chaos Computer Club (CCC) Suisse apparaissant notamment comme un opposant résolu. Le principal contre-argument repose justement sur les doutes en matière de sécurité. Le e-voting est susceptible en effet d’être manipulé par des pirates électroniques, les résultats d’un vote ou d’une élection pouvant être justement modifiés.

Les partisans du e-voting rétorquent que même une élection par bulletin papier classique n’échappe pas à la tricherie, et qu’il existe diverses possibilités de minimiser le risque lors d’une votation électronique. L’Organisation des Suisses de l’étranger (OSE), qui représente les intérêts des nombreux Suisses expatriés, est entre autres en première ligne dans le combat en faveur du e-voting. Le vote électronique tient particulièrement à cœur des Suisses de l’étranger car l’éloignement engendre toujours des problèmes de distribution en temps voulu des documents relatifs à la votation. Le e-voting permettrait de voter indépendamment du temps et du lieu et donnerait ainsi aux Suisses de l’étranger l’occasion de participer facilement au processus démocratique.

En Suisse, la situation est donc assez fluctuante. Comment se présente la question ailleurs dans le reste du monde?

 

L’Estonie comme pionnière

En réalité, il n’existe guère de systèmes de e-voting établis. Divers pays comme la France, la Norvège ou l’Allemagne l’ont certes expérimenté ou en ont au moins discuté. Un petit pays, souvent occulté, endosse toutefois un rôle de pionnier: l’Estonie. Ce pays balte a été le premier au monde à lancer, déjà en 2005, un système de e-voting généralisé – et ce, on le notera, bien que cette procédure ait été initiée plusieurs années après la Suisse.


                 Tallinn, la capitale de l’Estonie | A. Palu @ Wikimedia Commons

L’approche estonienne se différencie surtout et substantiellement en un point de la démarche suisse, à savoir l’identification des votants. Pour des questions de démocratie, il faut pouvoir s’assurer que seules les personnes autorisées à voter et à élire s’expriment. Ce système fonctionne en Estonie à l’aide de la carte d’identité qui est équipée d’une puce informatique. Pour que l’électeur soit identifié, la carte est insérée dans un lecteur spécifique, et un code personnel est saisi. C’est alors seulement à ce moment-là que le votant a accès à la page où il peut voter. Pour confirmer son choix, un autre code personnel est encore requis; la saisie de ce code crypte, en d’autres termes anonymise, le vote.

Le système suisse prévoit que les votants reçoivent un code d’identification par la poste, code qu’ils doivent saisir également avant de se prononcer. Pour les partisans du vote électronique, la solution estonienne impliquant la carte d’identité n’est pas seulement plus simple, mais elle recèle aussi moins de risques de manipulation. En fait, leur solution n’a engendré aucun problème majeur jusqu’à présent, notamment aussi grâce à des contrôles permanents et à des adaptations constantes du système.

Pour les Estoniennes et les Estoniens, le e-voting est devenu une évidence. Au cours des dernières années, le nombre de personnes votant par voie numérique a constamment augmenté ; cependant, les effets sur la participation générale sont ambivalents. Quoi qu’il en soit, les Estoniens sont en tout cas fiers de leur système et de leur rôle de pionnier.

 

La blockchain comme solution en Suisse?

L’exemple de l’Estonie montre que le e-voting est possible. Pourtant, malgré ces bonnes expériences, les doutes quant à la sécurité de ce vote ne devraient pas être écartés. En raison des particularités de la démocratie suisse, une simple adoption du système estonien n’est pas envisageable.

Une solution possible pourrait toutefois venir de Zoug, surnommé «la Crypto Valley». Les systèmes s’appuyant sur la blockchain sont considérés comme particulièrement prometteurs; cette technologie a acquis dernièrement une certaine notoriété dans le buzz autour du bitcoin.

La blockchain permet de sauvegarder une information (p. ex. un «oui» à un vote, représenté par le Bloc C ci-dessous) dans ce qu’on appelle un «bloc». Chaque bloc compte un «hash» basé sur cette information sauvegardée. Ce hash sert quasiment de code d’identification et ne peut pas être modifié facilement. Un bloc est alors associé à d’autres blocs, constituant ainsi une sorte de «chaîne» ou chain. Les hash entrent en jeu pour faire le lien entre ces blocs: sur un bloc se trouve non seulement le hash propre à lui, mais en outre le hash du bloc précédent dans la chaîne. Les blocs sont donc «enchaînés» les uns aux autres.

Si un pirate électronique cherche à modifier l’information dans notre bloc C (p. ex. en faisant passer le vote de «oui» à «non»), alors le hash du bloc change également. Ce hash ne correspond alors plus au hash sauvegardé dans le bloc suivant, et la chaîne est rompue. Les manipulations peuvent ainsi être facilement repérées.

Chose géniale: la chaîne n’est pas sauvegardée de façon centralisée à un seul endroit. Des copies identiques de cette chaîne sont au contraire réparties sur de multiples serveurs. Contrairement au système actuel de la Poste, il n’existe donc pas de point central que des pirates électroniques pourraient attaquer, ce qui augmente le niveau de sécurité.

Les copies se «contrôlent» également entre elles: si une chaîne est modifiée, alors cette version ne correspond plus aux copies et est identifiée comme telle. L’information déterminante est donc celle contenue dans la pluralité des copies. Pour revenir à notre exemple, les copies où notre vote exact est sauvegardé détecteront le changement qu’un pirate électronique aura effectué en faisant passer le vote de «oui» à «non». Ainsi, nous avons, malgré cette tentative de manipulation, approuvé la proposition comme souhaité.

Cette technologie rend le système tout à fait intéressant, car une manipulation systématique, générale et surtout non identifiée de la votation devient beaucoup plus compliquée; de nombreux partisans du e-voting iraient même plus loin et diraient que le système est «rendu inviolable». Sur ce point, les critiques mettent toutefois aussi en garde contre le fait de ne pas sous-estimer les risques, car aucun système ne peut garantir une sécurité à 100%.

 

La nécessité de peser prudemment le pour et le contre

La blockchain pourrait-elle être alors la solution? En dernier lieu, il s’agit de peser scrupuleusement les avantages et les inconvénients, y compris les risques. Une discussion, menée non seulement dans le monde politique mais aussi dans la société plus large, est justement nécessaire: après tout, il s’agit de notre démocratie.

 

Hotspot Monde entier

Article Hotspot

Sur la ligne de front, muni d’un appareil photo

18/05/2018parCéline Neuenschwander

Quand il ne donne pas cours, Alex Kühni se rend dans des zones de combat. En tant que reporter de guerre, il documente les conflits de ce monde. Son objectif: sensibiliser les habitants des pays occidentaux, souvent au péril de sa vie. Avec ses travaux, Kühni a remporté cette année le prix Swiss Press Photo Award dans la catégorie des photos prises à l’étranger. Une interview sur une vie partagée entre salle de classe et front armé.

Trouves-tu cet article utile ?