When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Expertise

Corona Crisis: this Financial Aid is Available for Swiss Abroad

Worldwide, 09/04/2020 bySteven Sohn

The corona pandemic has serious consequences worldwide: overloaded health care systems, closed-down stores, rising unemployment. Many Swiss abroad and Swiss returnees are affected, too. But help is available - at least for emergencies. We show you what kind of aid is available.

Your Country of Residence Takes Precedence

First of all, the authorities in your country of residence need to be contacted in order to learn what kind of support is available – be it for you personally or for your company. There is a wide range of measures in different countries, especially for companies. For example (as of April 7, 2020) Germany and Switzerland have general short-time work programs, whereas in Greece this is only possible for half of the workforce, and in China or Russia such instruments are completely absent. The situation is similarly varied regarding help for the self-employed or additional support for SMEs.

Depending on the legal regulations applicable in your country of residence, it may well be that you as a Swiss abroad, and in particular your company based in that country, can also benefit from local relief and support measures, as well as from the general social security system. Thus, first and foremost, you should contact local authorities.

Measures taken by the Swiss government to cushion the consequences of the Corona crisis cannot, in principle, benefit Swiss nationals abroad or their company. That is because, according to Art. 3 of the COVID-19 Solidarity Guarantee Ordinance (German), companies applying for aid must be domiciled in Switzerland.

Nevertheless, there is a range of offers of assistance from both official and private sources for Swiss citizens abroad and for returnees, as summarized below. However, the emphasis remains clearly on personal responsibility.

 

Help from official Swiss side

For Swiss people abroad:

  • Based on the Swiss Abroad Act (SAA) and the complementary Swiss Abroad Ordinance (SAO), it is possible, under certain conditions, to receive social assistance on a one-off or recurrent basis. This may help to cover basic living expenses, vital medical treatment or a return trip to Switzerland. However, these contributions are generally to be restituted. You can apply for social assistance at the Swiss representation responsible for your country of residence. The conditions and formalities are listed here (German, French or Italian).
  • If no entitlement to social assistance or other support may be granted, the Confederation can grant one-off non-refundable contributions from the “Support Fund for Swiss Nationals Abroad” in cases of special hardship.
  • If Swiss nationals find themselves in an emergency situation in a country where they are only staying temporarily (i.e. in a third country), the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA) may also offer support in the form of Emergency Loans to enable, for example, to return to Switzerland, to overcome special hardship, or to finance vital medical treatment. For more information, contact the Swiss representation responsible for your country of residence. Further information can also be found here: Art. 47 SAA and the Swiss Abroad Ordinance.

For Swiss abroad with temporary residence in Switzerland:

  • For temporary stays in Switzerland, for example if you are currently unable return to your country of residence due to the Corona crisis, urgent social assistance may be granted in accordance with 41 para. 2 SAO. This can also include assumption of the costs of necessary medical treatment. Generally, such contributions are to be restituted. In order to receive this form of support, you should contact the commune or canton, in which you are currently staying.

For repatriated Swiss abroad:

  • Under certain conditions, returnees who are OASI (AHV) or ID (IV) recipients may apply for supplementary benefits.
  • As far as unemployment benefits are concerned, if you previously worked in an EU or EFTA country, you are generally required to claim your benefits from that country. If your country of employment was a third country, you might obtain Swiss unemployment benefits under certain conditions. Further information can be found in the FDFA’s guide “Returning to Switzerland Swiss citizens living abroad” as well as on the website of the State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO).
  • If you contact the Swiss representation before you return home, the representation will also coordinate possible social assistance benefits (link not available in English) with your future canton of residence in Switzerland, including accommodation for the initial period – that is, if you are entitled to it. If you have already entered Switzerland, you may apply for social assistance directly in your commune of residence. The Swiss Conference on Social Assistance currently provides specific information on social assistance during the Corona crisis (link not available in English).

 

Privately organised financial support

  • Soliswiss members in need may apply for a contribution of up to CHF 2,500 from the Soliswiss Aid Fund until 20 April 2020.
  • The E.O. Kilcher-Fonds of the Organisation of the Swiss Abroad offers under certain conditionsfinancial support to Swiss returnees in the form of an interest-free loan.
  • Otherwise, crowd funding may also be an option to take the initiative in asking for support for one’s SME or oneself. These include the Swiss platforms wemakeit.com or Raiffeisen Bank’s lokalhelden.ch (link not available in English) as well as the US top dogs kickstarter.com or gofundme.com.

 

The FDFA offers more useful information under the following links:

 

 

Hotspot Worldwide

Hotspot report

On the War Front: Up Close and Personal

18/05/2018ofCéline Neuenschwander

When he’s not teaching, Alex Kühni goes to war. As a war journalist he documents the conflicts that take place in this world. His goal is to raise the awareness of people living in the West. In order to do this, he often risks his life. Kühni won this year\'s Swiss Press Photo Award in the abroad category. This is an interview that hovers between the classroom and the war front

Did you find this entry helpful?

Tout ne fonctionne pas toujours comme prévu en voyage...C'est pour cela que nous avons un Plan b! En tant que membre Soliswiss, tu es automatiquement protégé(e) contre les risques politiques en voyage et dans ton pays de résidence!En savoir plus
Expertise

Crise du coronavirus: cette aide financière est disponible pour les Suisses de l’étranger

Monde entier, 09/04/2020 parSteven Sohn

La pandémie du coronavirus a de graves conséquences dans le monde entier: systèmes de santé publique surchargés, magasins fermés, hausse du chômage. De nombreux Suisses de l'étranger et rapatriés suisses sont également touchés. Mais de l'aide est disponible, au moins pour des situations d'urgence. Voice une vue d'ensemble sur vos options potentielles.

Le pays de résidence est prioritaire

Tout d’abord il faut se renseigner auprès des autorités du pays d’émigration sur les possibilités d’aide disponibles, que ce soit pour vous personnellement ou pour votre entreprise. Évidemment, il existe et existera des mesures très différentes selon les pays, en particulier pour les entreprises. Aujourd’hui (9 avril 2020), par exemple, l’Allemagne et la Suisse connaissent le chômage partiel, alors que la Grèce ne l’admet que que pour la moitié du personnel d’une entreprise, et qu’en Chine ou en Russie, cet instrument est totalement inconnu. La situation est tout aussi différente concernant les mesures de soutien pour les travailleurs indépendants ou pour les PME.

Selon la réglementation nationale applicable, il se peut que vous, en tant que Suisse de l’étranger, et en particulier votre entreprise basée dans le pays concerné, puissiez également bénéficier de mesures d’aide ainsi que du système de sécurité sociale. Vous devez donc avant tout vous renseigner auprès des autorités locales.

Cependant, les mesures suisses visant à atténuer les conséquences de la crise du coronavirus ne peuvent en principe pas bénéficier aux Suisses de l’étranger ni à leurs entreprises à l’étranger. Pour obtenir ce soutien financier, une entreprise doit être domiciliée en Suisse, conformément à l’article 3 de l’Ordonnance sur les cautionnements solidaires liés au COVID-19 du Conseil fédéral du 25 mars 2020.

Néanmoins, il existe toute une série d’offres d’assistance provenant de sources officielles et privées pour les citoyens suisses à l’étranger et pour les rapatriés. La responsabilité personnelle reste toutefois la priorité absolue. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un aperçu avec les liens pertinents.

 

Aide de sources officielles suisses

Pour les Suisses de l’étranger:

  • Selon la Loi sur les Suisses de l’étranger (LSEtr) et l’ordonnance sur les Suisses de l’étranger (OSEtr), il est possible, sous certaines conditions, de bénéficier de l’aide sociale à titre périodique ou à titre unique. Ces prestations sont censées couvrir les frais de subsistance, d’un traitement médical vital ou du voyage de retour en Suisse. Toutefois, les prestations sont généralement à rembourser. Vous pouvez solliciter de l’aide sociale auprès de la représentation suisse dans votre pays de résidence. Vous trouverez les conditions et formalités ici.
  • S’il n’existe pas de droit à l’aide sociale ou à d’autres aides, la Confédération peut verser des contributions uniques non soumises à remboursement du «Fonds d’aide aux ressortissants suisses à l’étranger» pour les cas de rigueur et d’indigence.
  • Si des ressortissants suisses se trouvent dans une situation d’urgence dans un pays où ils ne séjournent que temporairement (pays tiers), le Département fédéral des affaires étrangères (DFAE) peut offrir également un soutien sous forme de prêts d’urgence pour financer le retour en Suisse, pour assurer une aide transitoire, et pour des traitements médicaux vitaux. Vous pouvez obtenir plus d’informations auprès de la représentation suisse compétente pour votre pays de résidence. Voir aussi les bases légales correspondantes: l’art. 47 LSEtr et l’ordonnance sur les Suisses de l’étranger.

Pour les Suisses de l’étranger se retrouvant temporairement en Suisse:

  • Pour les séjours temporaires en Suisse, par exemple si vous ne pouvez pas rentrer dans votre pays de résidence en raison de la pandémie, une aide sociale d’urgence peut être accordée conformément à l’art. 41 al. 2 OSEtr. Cela peut également inclure la couverture des coûts des traitements médicaux nécessaires. En règle générale, vous devez rembourser ces prestations. Pour ce soutien, vous devez vous adresser à la commune ou au canton, dans laquelle/lequel vous séjournez actuellement.

Pour les Suisses rapatriés à l’étranger:

  • Les rapatriés qui sont bénéficiaires de l’AVS ou de l’AI peuvent sous certaines conditions solliciter des prestations complémentaires.
  • En ce qui concerne les allocations chômage, si vous avez travaillé auparavant dans un pays de l’UE ou de l’AELE, vous devez en principe faire valoir vos droits auprès de ce pays. Si votre pays d’emploi était un pays tiers, vous pouvez solliciter sous certaines conditions une allocation chômage suisse. Vous trouverez plus d’informations dans le Guide pratique «Retour des Suisses de l’étranger» du DFAE et sur le site Internet du Secrétariat d’Etat à l’économie (SECO).
  • Si vous prenez contact avec la représentation suisse avant votre retour, celle-ci coordonnera également l’aide sociale avec votre futur canton de résidence en Suisse, y compris pour un logement pour une période initiale – si vous y avez droit. Si vous êtes déjà rentré en Suisse, vous pouvez solliciter l’aide sociale directement de votre commune de résidence. La Conférence suisse des institutions de l’action sociale offre actuellement des informations spécifiques sur l’assistance sociale pendant la crise du coronavirus.

 

Soutien financier privé

  • Les membres Soliswiss indigents peuvent solliciter une contribution de 2’500 CHF maximum du Fonds d’aide de Soliswiss jusqu’au 20 avril 2020.
  • Le Fonds E.O.: Kilcher de l’Organisation des Suisses de l’étranger offre sous certaines conditions un soutien financier aux Suisses de l’étranger rapatriés sous la forme d’un prêt sans intérêt.
  • Alternativement, le financement participatif (« Crowdfunding ») pourrait être une option, par exemple pour demander de l’aide pour sa PME ou pour soi-même. Il s’agit notamment des plateformes suisses heroslocaux.ch de la Banque Raiffeisenou wemakeit.com, ainsi que des sites américains kickstarter.com et gofundme.com.

 

Le DFAE vous propose encore plus d’informations utiles sous les liens suivants :

 

 

Hotspot Monde entier

Article Hotspot

Sur la ligne de front, muni d’un appareil photo

18/05/2018parCéline Neuenschwander

Quand il ne donne pas cours, Alex Kühni se rend dans des zones de combat. En tant que reporter de guerre, il documente les conflits de ce monde. Son objectif: sensibiliser les habitants des pays occidentaux, souvent au péril de sa vie. Avec ses travaux, Kühni a remporté cette année le prix Swiss Press Photo Award dans la catégorie des photos prises à l’étranger. Une interview sur une vie partagée entre salle de classe et front armé.

Trouves-tu cet article utile ?