When travelling, things don't always go according to plan...This is why we have a Plan b! As a Soliswiss member, you are automatically protected from political risks - at home or abroad!Learn more
Swiss Success Stories

From Dream Farm in Switzerland to Dream Resort in Indonesia

Indonesia, 28/11/2018 bySteven Sohn

Indonesia, land of the 17,500 islands. One of them is Pulau Pef, a small, exotic and nearly un-touched paradise in the middle of nowhere. Against all odds, Maya Hadorn managed to build up a successful diving resort here, out of all places. Learn more about the unlikely story of an inspir-ing woman.

Swiss Success Stories – Episode I: Maya Hadorn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A long, long time ago, there was a remote island called Pulau Pef, a small piece of land ruled by a benign Raja (king). Under his rule, the island dwellers enjoyed an untroubled life in peace and harmony. One peculiar morn-ing, however, he was ripped from his slumber by an eerie whisper: he overheard the neighboring isle’s people planning to overthrow him! Utterly enraged, the king punched the face of a cliff with such force that Pulau Pef split into countless tiny pieces, creating the rugged isle we know today. On thatmorning, the Raja swore to watch over his beloved island for all eternity.

Maybe it was precisely the Raja’s spirit that lured Maya Hadorn to this secluded island; or maybe it was just pure coincidence. At any rate, when Maya first set her eyes on Pulau Pef, it was love at first sight. And who could blame her? The island paradise is jam-packed with spectacular creeks, deep-blue lagoons, white sandy beaches and picturesque coral reefs. Maya realized straight away: here, she could create something truly meaningful. And that’s exactly what she did. But who is this woman? Why did she choose this location to settle down? What’s the secret of her success?

A New Home

Born in 1967 as the youngest of five siblings of a humble farming family, Maya Hadorn spent her early years in Kölliken (AG), after which her family moved to Pfaffnau (LU). While she spent her childhood in her native region and trained to be a chef in Valais, Maya always knew: one day, she would set out to explore the great, wide world.

Indeed, in her early twenties that day had finally come. Maya journeyed across the globe and eventually ended up on the Maldives, where she started her first job overseas. In 2006, she went to Indonesia, where a friend found her a job as the manager of a resort in Raja Ampat, a remote archipelago in Indonesia’s far east. “My first reaction? ‘Thanks, but no thanks!’ Why should I give up my good life in Switzerland for some job in the middle of nowhere?”, Maya remembers.

But still. The islands’ sweet callingwas hard to ignore, and Maya has always had an adventurer’s heart. Ultimate-ly, it proved just too tempting and she ended up accepting the job offer — but only for one or two years, she told herself.

Three years later, she finally decided to indeed return to Switzerland. Her employees begged her to stay or perhaps to even build up something of her own on Raja Ampat. But Maya couldn’t imagine doing anything of the sort. She may have been an adventurer, but not a dreamer. She knew that you could hardly organize such a project on your own, let alone in a country like Indonesia. She was adamant about going back to Switzerland. After all, that was her plan all along.

 

“The island found me, not the other way round.”


 

But shortly before she hopped on the plane, destiny struck again. During a team excursion, she saw Palau Pef for the first time in her life, and it was love at first sight. Enthralled by the island’s diverse and untamed nature, Maya knew right away that she wanted to create something special at this heavenly spot. That “something special” turned out to be the Raja4Divers, a unique diving resort that boasts the highest ratings on Tripadvisor.

Between Tropical Storms and Hauntings, or: How to Build a Dream Resort from Scratch  

Building the resort turned out to be both an adventure and a challenge for Maya and her team. On the one hand, there was the climate: during the construction period, work was frequently disturbed by heavy rainfall. At that time, the island had no infrastructure to speak of, so that Maya and her team had to spend their nights in rickety tarp tents, which sometimes nearly got carried away by the wind. The situation was made worse by ill-ness, isolation and merciless muggy heat.

Procuring the necessary materials proved to be a problem as well. Sometimes suppliers failed to deliver be-cause the villages were currently haunted by heart-devouring ghosts, meaning that the workmen had to stay at home to protect their families. Furthermore, Maya would also have to quickly learn that the word “quality” had a totally different meaning in Indonesia.

One of the bungalows under construction.

Such differences of opinion always require a great deal of tact: “You cannot be overly direct. Rather, you need to explain the issue at hand in a roundabout way.” Not always easy for somebody with Maya’s hot-tempered nature. “But I was thinking of my guests. They expect quality for their money, especially after the long trip to the island. That’s why I always have to build bridges. What matters in the end is that the guests are happy, while my employees and business partners aren’t completely overwhelmed.”

In the meantime, Maya has found a workable middle ground. Today, ten authentic Papuan bungalows dot a palm-lined beach on this island paradise. From here, you can comfortably explore the colorful and diverse un-derwater world of Raja Ampat’s coral reefs. Alternatively, island’s diversity invites guests to go on a hike, do some kayaking, snorkel, climb, or to simply enjoy the sun.

 

“On my business trips, I’m often asked how many stars my hotel has. My reply: ‘Thousands: you simply have to go outside at night and look up at the sky.’”


 

While there is no shortage of luxury — the spacious bungalows offer anything your heart could desire, from a hammock to an iPad — you’ll be hard-pressed to find unnecessary knick-knack. “Our aim is to offer a highly authentic experience in an informal setting. The island’s nature and people are the real luxury here.’

This mix seems to be Maya’s recipe for success, as her guests appreciate being so close to the Indonesian staff. “In many resorts, cooks, waiters and domestic workers have to stay in the background. We do not create such gaps. They, too, are allowed to eat at the restaurant and mingle with the guests.’ The latter use this opportunity for example to learn to cook exotic dishes with the Indonesians. “Real friendships are born out of such encoun-ters, and sometimes people even shed a tear when the time to part arrives. This is what makes this resort so special.”

Dolce Far Niente in Paradise? Nothing of the Sort! Hard Work & Pragmatism Breed Suc-cess

But not even living in the tropics means you get to laze around all day long. As ought to be general knowledge, anyone wanting to be successful needs to put in lots of hard work. “Don’t think that our life is just peace, love and harmony with us just lying on the beach. We work hard around the clock to make sure our guests are happy and to keep our resort going. In fact, for some Western employees the conditions have turned out to be too demanding. The seclusion and the island’s harsh environment—e.g. the lack of privacy —may quickly bring you back down to earth.”

In spite of her love for the island, Maya never permitted herself to get dazzled. Talking to her, you quickly real-ize that her unwavering passion blends with a healthy dose of pragmatism. This combination seems to have served her well at the time of her great leap abroad: “Don’t be naive and think that you can do everything on your own. Having local contacts is imperative. You need competent people whom you can trust, who have the necessary drive, and who know how to deal with local authorities.”

“Pulau Pef is beautiful. But I do not want to grow old here.”

Her pragmatism is also demonstrated by her being a Soliswiss member for over ten years. “I wanted to enjoy good overall protection while in Indonesia, too. If something were to happen to me, I wouldn’t want to see the rug pulled from under my feetall of a sudden . I appreciate Soliswiss as a partner who knows what is important for Swiss aborad. I have always received personal, friendly and competent advice, e.g. regarding my return to Switzerland. Soliswiss makes sure I receive the advice and safety I need.”

Maya already knows: she will not stay on Pulau Pef forever: “Of course, I like it very much here, and Pulau Pef has become a sort of second home for me. But here I am and will always be “Ibu Maya”, the boss, the foreigner. In Switzerland, on the other hand, I can be just Maya, and be surrounded by family and friends – that is ex-tremely important for me.”

“Emigrating should not be an escape, because you’ll just take your problems with you.”

To those thinking of emigrating, Maya has a piece of advice: “If your reason for leaving your country is to run away from your troubles, then forget about it. Your problems are guaranteed to catch up with you sooner or later.” Many expats draw a distorted image of their dream destination. “That’s why it’s best to work in the new country for a while in order to see what life there is like – don’t just rush into it. But if you emigrate for the right reasons and proceed pragmatically, this might turn out an incredibly rewarding experience.”

Maya doesn’t regret her decision: “It’s above all Pulau Pef’s people that mesmerize me. Their warm-heartedness, their tolerance, their sense of humor – we could learn so much from them! We have become very close, and they will always be very dear to my heart.”

Did you find this entry helpful?

Auf Reisen läuft nicht immer alles nach Plan...Darum haben wir einen Plan b! Als Soliswiss Mitglied bist du im Ausland und in deinem Wohnland automatisch vor politischen Risiken geschützt.Mehr erfahren
Erfolgsgeschichte

Vom Traumbauernhof in der Schweiz zum Traumresort in Indonesien

Schweiz, 28.11.2018 vonSteven Sohn

Indonesien – Land der 17'500 Inseln. Eine davon: Pulau Pef, ein kleines, wildes, exotisches und nahezu unberührtes Paradies irgendwo im Nirgendwo. Entgegen zahlreicher Widrigkeiten hat es Maya Hadorn geschafft, ausgerechnet hier ein erfolgreiches Tauchresort aufzubauen. Erfahren Sie die unwahrscheinliche Geschichte einer inspirierenden Frau.

Schweizer Erfolgsgeschichten – Episode I: Maya Hadorn

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Es war einmal vor langer, langer Zeit eine weit entfernte Insel namens Pulau Pef. Das kleine Eiland wurde von einem gütigen Raja (König) regiert, unter dessen Herrschaft die Menschen ein unbeschwertes Leben in Frieden und Harmonie führten. Doch eines Morgens riss ihn ein unheimliches Geflüster aus dem Schlaf: auf der benachbarten Insel plante man einen Putsch gegen ihn! Da schlug der König in einem Wutanfall derart kräftig gegen eine Kliffwand, dass Pulau Pef in unzählige Inselchen zersplitterte und ihr heutiges Antlitz erhielt. An diesem Tage schwor der Raja, auf alle Ewigkeit über seine geliebte Insel zu wachen.

Vielleicht war es ja der Geist des Raja, der Maya Hadorn auf diese abgelegene Insel lockte. Vielleicht spielte aber auch nur der Zufall. Als sie das erste Mal ein Auge auf Pulau Pef warf, war es für Maya jedenfalls Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Man kann es ihr kaum verdenken: das Inselparadies strotzt nur so vor spektakulären Buchten, tiefblauen Lagunen, weissen Sandstränden und wunderschönen Korallenriffen. Maya wusste sofort: hier will und kann sie etwas wahrlich Einzigartiges aufbauen. Und genau das hat sie getan. Doch wer ist diese Frau? Wieso hat sie ausgerechnet hier ihr Lager aufgeschlagen? Und was ist ihr Erfolgsgeheimnis?

Plötzlich Inselbewohnerin

Geboren 1967 als jüngstes von fünf Geschwistern einer Bauernfamilie, wächst Maya Hadorn die ersten Jahre in Kölliken (AG) in einfachen Verhältnissen auf, bevor die Familie nach Pfaffnau (LU) zieht. Während sie ihre Kindheit in ihrer Heimatregion verbringt und eine Kochlehre im Wallis absolviert, ist ihr stets klar: eines Tages will sie hinaus in die grosse weite Welt.

Mit Anfang 20 geht es dann endlich los. Maya reist in der Weltgeschichte herum und endet schliesslich auf den Malediven, wo sie ihre erste Arbeitsstelle im Ausland antritt. 2006 zieht es sie nach Indonesien, wo ihr ein Freund eine Stelle als Leiterin eines Resorts in Raja Ampat, einem abgelegenen Archipel im fernen Osten Indonesiens, vermittelt. «Meine erste Reaktion darauf? ‹Danke, aber auf keinen Fall!› Warum sollte ich mein gutes Leben in der Schweiz für eine Stelle irgendwo im Nirgendwo aufgeben?», erinnert sich Maya.

Aber trotzdem. Der süsse Ruf der Inselwelt ist unüberhörbar und letztlich zu verlockend, und in Maya schlägt eben doch das Herz einer Abenteurerin. Sie willigt also ein – aber nur für ein bis zwei Jahre, nimmt sie sich vor.

Nach drei Jahren beschliesst sie dann auch tatsächlich, wieder in die Schweiz zurückzukehren. Ihre Angestellten flehen sie an, auf Raja Ampat zu bleiben oder gar etwas Eigenes aufzubauen. Für Maya unvorstellbar. Denn auch wenn sie eine Abenteurerin ist, ist sie keine Träumerin. Sie weiss, dass man gerade in Ländern wie Indonesien solche Projekte kaum alleine aufziehen kann. Ihr Entschluss steht fest, sie kehrt zurück in die Schweiz. So war es schliesslich geplant.

 

«Die Insel fand mich, nicht ich sie.»


 

Doch kurz bevor sie wieder ins Flugzeug Richtung Heimat steigt, schlägt das Schicksal erneut zu. An einem Teamausflug sieht sie Pulau Pef zum ersten Mal, und es ist Liebe auf den ersten Blick. Beeindruckt von der Vielfältigkeit und der ungebändigten Natur weiss Maya sofort: «Hier will ich etwas machen.» Aus diesem «Etwas» wurde das Raja4Divers, einem einzigartigen, auf Tripadvisor mit der Bestnote gefeierten Tauchresort.

Zwischen Tropenstürmen und Geisterheimsuchungen – oder wie man ein Traumresort aus dem Boden stampft  

Der Aufbau des Resorts stellt Maya und ihre Angestellten vor abenteuerliche Herausforderungen. Da ist einerseits das Wetter: immer wieder wird die Insel während der Bauarbeiten von heftigen Regenfällen heimgesucht. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt gibt es noch keine nennenswerte Infrastruktur auf der Insel, sodass Maya und ihre Leute in instabilen Blachenzelten übernachten müssen, die der Wind nachts fast davonbläst. Krankheit, Isolation und eine unerbittlich schwüle Hitze kommen erschwerend dazu.

Auch die Beschaffung der Baumaterialien gestaltet sich als schwierig. Da kann es schon einmal zu Lieferausfällen kommen, weil gerade Geister auf der Suche nach Menschenherzen ihr Unwesen treiben und die Handwerker in ihren Dörfern bleiben müssen, um ihre Familien zu beschützen. Auch dass das Verständnis von «Qualität» in Indonesien ein anderes ist, muss Maya sehr bald lernen.

Einer der Bungalows während der Bauarbeiten.

Bei solchen Meinungsverschiedenheiten bedarf es jeweils viel Fingerspitzengefühl: «Man darf nicht zu direkt sein, sondern muss Probleme durch die Blume erklären.» Das fällt der Heissblüterin zu Beginn nicht immer leicht. «Aber ich dachte dabei an meine Gäste, welche nach ihrer langen Reise und für ihr Geld eine entsprechende Qualität erhalten sollen. Ich muss also stets Brücken schlagen, sodass am Schluss die Gäste happy sind, gleichzeitig aber auch meine Angestellten und Geschäftspartner nicht völlig überfordert werden».

Den Königsweg hat Maya inzwischen gefunden. Mittlerweile schmiegen sich entlang eines palmengesäumten Strandes zehn authentische papuanesische Bungalows. Von hier aus lässt sich bequem die farbenfrohe und vielfältige Unterwasserwelt der Korallenriffe Raja Ampats erkunden. Alternativ lädt abwechslungsreiche Inselwelt zum Wandern, Kajakfahren, Schnorcheln, Klettern oder einfach nur Sonnenanbeten ein.

 

«Auf Geschäftsreisen werde ich oft gefragt, wie viele Sterne mein Hotel hat. Meine Antwort: ‹tausende, wenn Sie abends ins Freie treten und zum Himmel schauen.›»


 

Zwar mangelt es nicht an Luxus, denn in den grosszügigen Bungalows gibt es eigentlich alles, was das Herz begehrt – von der Hängematte bis zum iPad. Auf unnötigen Schnickschnack wird aber verzichtet. «Wir möchten eine möglichst authentische Erfahrung in einem familiären Umfeld bieten. Der eigentliche Luxus hier, das sind die Natur und die Menschen».

Dieser Mix scheint ihr Erfolgsrezept zu sein, denn die Gäste schätzen gerade die Nähe zum indonesischen Personal. «In vielen Resorts müssen sich Köche, Kellner und Hausangestellten oftmals im Hintergrund halten. Bei uns gibt es dieses Gefälle nicht. Auch sie dürfen im Restaurant essen und sich unter die Leute mischen.» Die Gäste nutzen die Chance, um mit ihnen beispielweise exotische Gerichte zu kochen. «Dabei entwickeln sich richtige Freundschaften, und manchmal fliessen gar Tränen bei der Abreise. Das macht dieses Resort so besonders.»

Von wegen Dolce Far Niente im Paradies – mit harter Arbeit & Pragmatismus zum Erfolg

Doch auch in den Tropen ist nicht immer alles eitel Sonnenschein. Der Schlüssel zum Erfolg liegt letztlich auch in viel harter Arbeit. «Es ist eben nicht nur Friede, Freude, Eierkuchen und den ganzen Tag am Strand faulenzen. Wir arbeiten rund um die Uhr sehr hart, um unsere Gäste zufriedenzustellen und das Resort am Laufen zu halten. So manch westlicher Mitarbeitender ist dabei schon an seine Grenzen gekommen. Die Abgeschiedenheit und die manchmal harten Bedingungen der Insel – zum Beispiel wenig Privatsphäre zu haben – holen dich schnell mal auf den Boden der Tatsachen zurück.»

Trotz ihrer Liebe für die Insel hat sich Maya nie blenden lassen. Im Gespräch mit ihr wird schnell klar, dass ihre Leidenschaft mit einer gehörigen Prise Pragmatismus abgeschmeckt ist. Diese Kombination scheint ihr beim Auswandern dienlich gewesen zu sein: «Man sollte nicht naiv sein und alles alleine schaffen wollen. Zentral sind lokale Kontakte. Man braucht kompetente Leute vor Ort, denen man vertraut, die die nötige Energie mitbringen und die mit den Behörden umzugehen wissen.»

«Pulau Pef ist wunderschön. Aber hier will ich nicht alt werden.»

Ihr Pragmatismus äussert sich auch in ihrer über zehnjährigen Soliswiss-Mitgliedschaft. «Ich wollte auch in Indonesien immer gut abgesichert sein. Sollte mal etwas passieren, will ich nicht auf verlorenem Posten stehen. Mit Soliswiss habe ich eine Anlaufstelle, die weiss was für Auslandschweizer wichtig ist. Ich habe stets eine persönliche, freundliche und kompetente Beratung erhalten, zum Beispiel wenn es um meine Rückkehr in die Schweiz geht. Soliswiss gibt mir die nötige Beratung und Sicherheit.»

Denn für Maya ist klar: sie wird nicht für immer auf Pulau Pef bleiben: «Mir gefällt es hier natürlich sehr, und Pulau Pef ist eine Art zweites Zuhause für mich geworden. Aber hier bin und bleibe ich immer ‘Ibu Maya’, die Chefin, die Ausländerin. In der Schweiz kann ich dagegen einfach nur Maya sein, und bin zudem von Familie und Freunden umgeben – das ist mir enorm wichtig.»

«Auswandern darf keine Flucht sein, denn du nimmst deine Probleme mit dir mit.»

Eine Empfehlung möchte Maya Auswanderungswilligen mit auf den Weg geben: «Wenn du nur vor deinen Sorgen davonlaufen willst, lass es lieber. Deine Probleme holen dich früher oder später garantiert wieder ein.» Viele Auswandernde hätten ein verklärtes Bild von ihrer Traumdestination. «Am besten arbeitet man erst einmal einige Zeit im neuen Land, um ein Gespür für das Leben dort zu erhalten – man muss ja nichts überstürzen. Aber wenn man aus den richtigen Gründen auswandert und dieses Vorhaben pragmatisch angeht, ist es eine unglaublich bereichernde Erfahrung.»

Maya bereut ihren Entschluss jedenfalls nicht: «Mich begeistern vor allem die Inselbewohner hier. Ihre Warmherzigkeit, ihre Toleranz, ihren Humor – wir können viel von ihnen lernen! Sie stehen mir sehr nah und sind mir sehr ans Herz gewachsen».

Hotspot Schweiz

Hotspot Bericht

Nicaragua: ein Land versinkt im Chaos

25.09.2018vonSteven Sohn

Massenproteste, Strassenschlachten und Menschenrechtsverletzungen: Ein ursprünglich friedlicher Protest gegen eine geplante Rentenreform der Regierung Daniel Ortegas wurde von den nicaraguanischen Sicherheitskräften gewaltsam aufgelöst und trat eine fatale Gewaltspirale los, in dessen Verlauf über 300 Menschen getötet wurden. Eine Stabilisierung der Lage ist zurzeit nicht in Sicht.

Findest du diesen Beitrag hilfreich?